Committee

The committee is responsible for decisions regarding all areas of Birkenhead United covering seniors, juniors, womens, coaching, safety, sponsorship, maintenance and other governance issues relating to running the club.

Our committee members are:

President
Neil Coventry
neil@buafc.org.nz

Vice President
Gareth Williams
gareth@buafc.org.nz

Secretary
Jaron Burbidge
jaron@buafc.org.nz

Treasurer
Sian Chad
sian@buafc.org.nz

Club Captain
Ian Morgan
clubcaptain@buafc.org.nz

Other team members:

Junior Convenor
Ross Frisby
juniors@buafc.org.nz

Head of Football
Paul Hobson
paul@buafc.org.nz

Football Development Officer
Tony Readings
tony@buafc.org.nz

Club Administrator
Katrina Shelford
katrina@buafc.org.nz

The Birkenhead United committee is responsible for registering the clubs teams at the beginning of the season. Our committee organises players into teams, arranges for a coach (with the junior teams this is often a parent of one of the players in the team), provides each team with strip, balls, cones and other gear and liaises with the teams throughout the season.

Volunteers

Birkenhead United has a strong history of volunteerism. It is the foundation on which the club was built back in 1963 and continues to play a critical role in both our governance and operations. It enables us to offer some of the best community sport and performance football programmes in New Zealand, whilst also keeping our playing fees as low as possible.

There are many volunteers positions below where we need help, so please contact our Volunteer Coordinator if you’re keen to find out more or signup today. Whether you can help out for 10 minutes or 10 hours, we welcome anyone who embraces our TEAM philosophy.

Members of the management committee will often oversee a team of volunteers, supporting them to achieve club objectives.

Volunteer Opportunities

  • Merchandising Coordinator
  • Programmes & Events
  • Volunteer Coordinator
  • Senior Summer Football Coordinator
  • Senior Tournament Coordinator
  • Senior Futsal Coordinator
  • Coach Development Coordinator
  • Referee Development Coordinator
  • Senior Team Managers (multiple)
  • Health & Safety Coordinator
  • Midget Coordinator (5-8yrs / 1st-4th grade)
  • Junior Coordinator (9-12yrs / 5th-8th grade)
  • Youth Coordinator (13-17 yrs / 9th-13th grade)
  • School & College Liaison (inter-school competition)
  • Holiday Programme Coordinator
  • Junior Tournament Coordinator (9th, 10th & 11th grade)
  • Junior Summer Football Coordinator (3v3)
  • Junior Futsal Coordinator
  • Academy Coordinator
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close